Tallinn Boys Choir was founded by Mrs Lydia Rahula – the principal conductor and the artistic director of the choir in September 1988. The Choir has its own studio with a membership of 130. The Preparatory Choirs are Primo (aged 6-7yrs) and Secundo (aged 8-9yrs).

Concert Choir is a classical mixed choir (SATB) comprising boys between the aged of 10 to 15 and young men aged 16 to 35. The concert composition ranges from 35 to 60 singers. Most of the boys also play a musical instrument. The choirmaster and conductor of the Choir is Tomi Rahula, the son of Lydia Rahula.

Rehearsals take place three times a week at Tallinn School No. 21.

Choir’s repertoire includes songs from Gregorian chant to vocal polyphony, from Estonian music to African spirituals. It is important for the Choir to maintain the diversity of its repertoire.

Choir has performed several major musical works: L.van Beethoven Fantasia c-minor for piano, choir and orchestra G.Mahler's 3. and 8. Symphony with Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, A.Honegger's Christmas Cantata, C.Saint-Saens Christmas Oratorio, W.A.Mozart's Coronation Mass, J.S.Bach's John's Passion, A. Knaifel's Chapter Eight and Estonian composers works: oratorio Joonase lähetamine (Jonah Sending) by Rudolf Tobias, oratorio Hiiob (Job) by Artur Kapp.

Choir has performed at Birgitta Festival – Honegger Jeanne d'Arc at Stake conducted by Anu Tali and three times C. Orffi cantana Carmina Burana conducted by Eri Klas.

At Birgitta Festival 2009 Tallinn Boys Choir performed in a new cantata Aeg armastada (A Time to Love) composed by a young Estonian composer Tauno Aints.

Tallinn Boys Choir took part in Rudolf Tobias Oratorio Jonah Sending conducted by Neeme Järvi in 1999. Oratorio was performed in Estonia, Finland and Sweden. Rudolf Tobias Oratorio and Artur Kapp Oratorio Hiiob was be performed in Germany and Estonia at Nürnbergi festival in summer 1999. Conductors were Leo Krämer and Arvo Volmer. The Choir boys have partcipated in operas of National G.Verdi Don Carlos, G.Puccini Bohemian etc.

Choir performed H. Berliozi Faust and Romeo and Julia with children choirs and boys choirs all over Europe in European Union project in Strasbourg in December 2008.

Choir is working with many well-known Estonian musicians: Andres Uibo (organist), Jüri Leiten (trumpeter), Villu Veski and Virgo Veldi (saxophfonists), Mart Siimer (composer-pianist), Annely Peebo (mezzosopran). Choir has also worked with internationally known musicians like tenorsaxophonist John Nugeti and choirs – Vienna Boys Choir, American Boys Choir. Choir has worked with well-known conducors Paavo Järvi, Nikolai Aleksejev, Robert Sund, Andres Mustonen, James Litton, Carl Hogset, Jorma Panula, Bobby McFerrin.

New choral piece by with cantata „Aeg armastada” [A Time to Love] by young Estonian composer Tauno Aints. The work for soloists, male choir and symphony orchestra is composed in 2008 and dedicated to 90th anniversary of Republic of Estonia. The librettist and one of the text authors is Leelo Tungal. The work will be performed by soloists Jassi Zahharov (baritone), Urmas Põldma (tenor), Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Estonian National Male Choir, Tallinn Boys’ Choir, ballet troupe of the Vanemuine Theatre, soloists Julia Litvinenko and Jonathan Ammerlaan. Video installation is made by Grete Laus and Ott Evestus. Conductor and musical director is Eri Klas.

Several renowned conductors like Neeme Järvi, Eri Klas, Arvo Volmer, Andres Mustonen, Robert Sund, Leo Krämer, James Litton, Carl Hogset, Phil Mattson, Jorma Panula and others have conductednthe choir.


Numerous famous Estonian pop-artist have perfomed with the Choir – Tanel Padari & TheSun, Dave Bentoniga, Siiri Sisask, Tõnis Mägi, Ivo Linna, Janika Sillamaa, Maarja-Liis Ilus, Birgit Õigemeel and Koit Toome. Choir has participated at festival Jazzkaar.

Tallinn Boys Choir has been recorded in radios of Estonia, Japan, Netherlands, Germany and in televisions in Estonia, USA, Japan. K. Penderecki Stabat Mater was recorded with Tapiola Chamber Choir in Finland.

Foto: Kaupo Kikkas





  • 1992 – II place in mixed choir category and special prize for the best performance of Franz Schubert song in International Franz Schubert Choir Competition Vienna.
  • 1993 – GRAND PRIX, 3 gold pendant dimploma and Best Conductor reward in Tampereen Sävel (Tampere Vocal Music Festival), Finland
  • 1994 – III place in mixed choir category in Tallinn Choir Festival
  • 2004 – GRAND PRIX and I place mixed choir category in VIII International Children’s and Youth Choir Festival Moscow Sounds in Moscow, Russia. Conductor reward for Lydia Rahula.
  • 2009 – Gold medal (99 points) in mixed choir category (conductor Lydia Rahula) and Gold medal (95 points) in male category (conductor Tomi Rahula) Olomouc VII International Choir Festival Musica Religiosa in Czech.koorifestival ”
  • 2011 - Lithuania, Klaipeda  - 18th Intervńational Stasys Śimkus Choir Competition
    • I place children choirs category (SSAA) conductor  Lydia Rahula
    • I place youth choir category (SATB) conductor Lydia Rahula
    • III place Equal voices category (conductor Tomi Rahula)



  • 1998 – I place in A-category in male and boys’ choir competition, Tallinn.
  • 2002 – I place in D- category in ensembles competition, Paide
  • 2003 – II place in national soloists competition, Tallinn
  • 2004 – I place in D-group and II place in E-group in boys ensemble competition, Haapsalu
  • 2009 – I and III palce in national soloists competition, Jõhvi
  • 2011 – II palce in national soloists competition, Viljandi
  • 2011 – I place in D-group, I place in E-group in boys ensemble competition, Rapla
  • 2011 – I place in ensembles competition 'Volüüm', Paide


  • 1990 Sweden, Germany, Finland
  • 1991 Poland, Germany, Finland
  • 1992 Austria, Norway, Lithuania
  • 1993 Germany, Finland, Netherlands
  • 1994 Netherlands, Germany, Sweden, Finland
  • 1995 Sweden, Finland
  • 1996 USA, Hungary
  • 1997 Japan, Latvia, Portugal
  • 1998 Russia, Latvia, Finland
  • 1999 Finland, Germany (repeatedly)
  • 2000 Canada
  • 2001 Finland, Russia
  • 2002 Finland
  • 2003 Canada (Newfoundland)
  • 2004 Russia, Germany, Finland
  • 2005 Thailand, Poland, Germany
  • 2006 Lithuania, Latvia
  • 2007 Germany (repeatedly)
  • 2008 Finland, Prantsusmaa
  • 2009 Czech
  • 2010 Russia, Findland, Germany
  • 2011 Russia, Lithuania
  • 2012 Italy
  • 2013 Spain
  • 2014 Czech